Seqrite announces SHA-1 deprecation for its products

Estimated reading time: 2 minutes

SHA-1 and SHA-2 are the digest algorithms of the code signing certificate used by Seqrite to sign the code of its products.  According to an announcement, Microsoft will no longer allow certificate providers to issue SHA-1 supported certificates.

Seqrite has been using dual (SHA-1 & SHA-2) code-signing for its products that DigiCert provides. DigiCert discontinued issuing SHA-1 code signing certificates from Dec 1, 2020, and the validity of the SHA-1 certificate used for code signing of Seqrite Endpoint product will expire on June 4, 2021.


Product Code-Signing Changes

All new software packages, hotfixes, or security patches of Seqrite products created after June 4 2021 will use only the SHA2 Certificate for code-signing.


What do I need to do?

To continue receiving protection and feature updates, take the required actions as per your operating system:

  1. Windows 7, Windows Server 2008, and Windows Server 2008 R2
  2. Windows 8 and above
  3. Windows Server 2012 and above
  4. Windows XP and Windows Server 2003
  5. Windows Vista
    • The latest Seqrite products and feature updates (fixes and enhancements) code-sign with SHA-2 certificate will not be supported
    • Users will continue to receive only virus definitions.
    • We recommend customers having Windows Vista upgrade to the latest operating systems.



We recommend using the latest version of operating systems to avoid the risk of exploits targeting vulnerabilities of the operating system. Windows operating systems that Microsoft no longer supports can be potentially vulnerable as security patches/updates are not released for this operating system by Microsoft.



Availability of SHA-2 Code Signing Support for Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2


Seqrite Support

Still, have queries? You can reach out to us at 1800-212-7377 or to chat with an expert for assistance, please click here.



Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *